Posted by: hockeygrl1 | March 9, 2011

“How about cupcakes” recipe #2

So, my daughter had to go to a friend’s house to work on a project and I had to use my son as my baking assistant. He’s known for his pies. He even has a name picked out for his pie shop, I Like  π! Creative huh… He is a nerd and in Calculus II right now. Yes he is wearing an apron, he’s a messy cook! So I made him a camouflage  one with the help of my mom.

Todays recipe came from cooks.com

1/3 cup butter, softened

2/3 cups sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/3 cup vanilla yogurt

1 1/3 cups baking flour

So we followed the directions and baked the cupcakes. They look nice. We waited for them to cool and then I attempted great grandma Ann’s whipped cream frosting. I didn’t think that because we’re in a heat wave here in Minnesota, 40 degrees, that it would be humid and I’d have that to contend with. Long story longer, the frosting flopped! Due to humidity, in Minnesota, in winter. *Evil laugh* Mother nature at her best.

 

These cupcakes were light and fluffy. They had a light and airy texture. Much better than the bricks we baked last time. Very enjoyable. I don’t know if that is because they called for yogurt or because we used bakers flour. I would make, and eat, these again. I just hope the frosting turns out next time!

 


See the epic fail on the frosting. Flat and limp not light and fluffy 😦

Leave a Reply

Categories

