Posted by: hockeygrl1 | April 9, 2011

Abnormal Fatigue

FatigueRecently, when I was looking for information on lupus fatigue, I cane across a blog by my doctor. She is wonderful and is trying everything to get me back to normal. She knows how much I want to return to working and functioning at a higher level. She tells me that she frequently thinks about me on the weekends and how she can help me. I hope that with her and her research in to lupus we both can make a difference.

I don’t know if my fatigue is abnormal or if it’s that I haven’t learned how to manage my lupus yet. I try to be active and do things, but these things frequently make me rest for the next few days. I’d like to think that I have abnormal tolerance to fatigue like I do to pain. Just before my first stay in the hospital I was falling to sleep on the couch at 5 while watching the news.  I just attributed this to having a new job and my getting up early to exercise. I didn’t think it was unusual. This was the same thing with the pain I was feeling from the pancreaititus. I just thought it was a muscle strain in my back. So, I’d like to think, when I feel pain, it is serious as well as me feeling fatigue is serious.

My sleep quality, which also can affect fatigue, is not great. I have trouble falling to sleep. Once I’m out, it’s for the night, so there’s no problem there. I just have a bad habit of thinking too much once I lay down. Relaxation techniques do not help. It also seems like I start to get my best sleep in the morning just before the alarm goes off.

Dr. Segal is keeps saying my body is unconditioned and I need to build up my endurance again. I am doing that now by trying to walk everyday either outside with my dog or on my treadmill. Before this nightmare of being sick happened, I was in my best shape of many years thanks to motivation on doing the Breast Cancer 3-Day. I’d like to get back to that spot, although it’s hard when your limbs feel like their full of lead and the roids make you eat everything in sight. I truly miss running. Maybe by September 10 I can get back to being able to run a 5k and run the Lupus Foundation of MN’s 5k instead of walking it. You all are welcome to join me!

So while I continue to try to deal with this chronic fatigue, it gives me hope that my doctor and many others are looking for solutions. Who knows, maybe someday soon I will be able to return to the working class because of these advances.

Here is the blog written by Dr. Segal: http://lfa-inc.blogspot.com/search?q=segal

Leave a Reply

Categories

