Posted by: hockeygrl1 | April 11, 2011

The benefits of dance

Over the last 3 years I’ve had a lot of ups and downs. One thing that has stayed consistent is my daughters dancing. This is her 10th year at Starz Dance Studio. It brings me joy when I see her and others dance. A really great routine can give me chills. Think about it; these girls go up on stage, sometimes alone, in costumes, some of which are uncomfortable or revealing, and jump and turn all around the stage.

These girls have a confidence I wish I had at their age. Just giving a speech in front of the class could put me in tears. Cassie has danced in front of the whole middle school, about 600 people, and she acts like it’s no big deal. Besides the confidence, the girls become friends and learn to support each other. They don’t break each other down if a mistake is made, they build each other up. It is the most wonderful kind of support system and I know it comes down from the top. Ann J began this studio and she sets the example for the girls and they follow her lead.

That lead brings all of us together to support the girls as they support each other. If one fails, we rally around them. There is no finger-pointing, it’s not needed. Each girl takes responsibility for their own dancing. They know if they didn’t give their all and feel bad, but the other girls support and love them any how. It’s beautiful.

That love of dancing had brought me to try the ladies tap class in past years. Boy is it good exercise. This year I need to sit out. My health is limiting me, but it doesn’t mean I won’t be cheering the ladies on from the audience. I know what it’s like. My feet sometimes don’t want to do what Ann J is asking, and I’m sure I look like a fool, but it’s about learning new things. You know, things your daughter does, to bring you closer together.

The dancers are also trying to raise money to dance in New York in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. It will be a mother daughter trip. Another wonderful memory to share with my little girl before she grows up and moves on. Gosh, thinking about it, brings tears to my eyes.

So, today I’m a proud mom. My baby girl did well this weekend, even if she doesn’t think so. It takes a lot of guts to get up on stage and do a solo and she has this weekend to show that she learned from this past weekend. I know she’ll do great like always.

Leave a Reply

Categories

