Posted by: hockeygrl1 | April 19, 2011

I write about my health because…..#HAWMC

Today is subject is pick anything you want to write about day. I’m going to tell you why I’m writing.

I write because I can. This is something I can do to be an activist for lupus. I might not have the energy to run a 5k or marathon or even go down to the state capital and talk to senators and congress people, but I can take 5 – 30 minutes a day and write a blog. It’s just enough to make me feel like I’m doing something, yet not too much to hurt my hands or wear me out.

I had an interesting doctor’s appointment today. We were going over the usual things; what joints hurt, are my feet swelling, how’s the blood pressure, etc., when she said, “You inspire me.” Who would think that I’d inspire my doctor. She continued by saying, “You’re so positive when you come in here, even if you’re not feeling well. You’re always prepared for the appointment with notes and you take notes. You ask great questions and make me think of new ways to help my lupus patients.”

That was great to hear. I do make a difference! All my research into new ways to help me feel better and reading medical journals is paying off. My doctor does work with clinical studies and uses my information frequently. She is also going to put me on Benlysta as soon as the HCMC pharmacy has it because I can only tolerate roids to treat my lupus. We need something to get it back under control.

I also write to reach out to others like me. I live in the middle of no where! There are no support groups here. Those of you I’ve meet online through Twitter or other blogs are all I have. My family is not very supportive. They think they are, but really they could do better.

It’s therapy. I feel so much better after I’ve written a blog. It takes things off my mind and helps me sort things out. Funny how a little writing can do that.

I’m going to continue to write, even if no one reads it. For all kinds of reasons for myself and others, to hopefully benefit everyone.

Leave a Reply

Categories

