Posted by: hockeygrl1 | April 22, 2011

Has my doctor gone crazy? #HAWMC

Prescribed! You’re doctor has written you a wacky prescription – what is it? How did they know my doctor did write a wacky prescription? At least it seems weird to this spoonie.

Dr. Barbara Segal is my doctor. She’s wonderful! Frequently, she has lust let me have it. You know, give me the bad new straight and not sugar coat it at all. She also keeps up to date on all new advances in medicine not just rueumatology. At my last visit she talked about an article she read on inactivity studies. A researcher, James Levine, from the May Clinic is studying how much people move and how much they don’t.

So where does this put my prescription…

My doctor wants this fatigued spoonie to walk 30 minutes 2 times a day. Even if its sunny! She said take a nap after if I need to.

Back to the research: The question James Levine was trying to answer was “Why do some people who consume the same amount of food as others gain more weight?” To do his research, he hooked sensors up to the volunteers legs and they connected to a sensor in a fanny pack. He also had the subjects only eat food prepared by the lab. He determined how many calories each should eat per day and then added 1000 calories to their diet. Some people gained a lot of weight and some gained little to no weight.

The people who gained little to no weight were not exercising more, that was banned from them because of the study, they were just moving more. “Their bodies simply responded naturally by making more little movements than they had before the overfeeding began, like taking the stairs, trotting down the hall to the office water cooler, bustling about with chores at home or simply fidgeting.” The people who were gaining weight sat 2 hours more than those who didn’t gain weight.

This is the theory to the madness my doctor is prescribing me. So, maybe this is not as wacky as others will write, I’m not a very funny person, I’m very practical, but to a spoonie dealing with chronic fatigue it is insane. I warned the kids to let them know they may need to do more around the house for me and my parents that live upstairs because I’m going to do this everyday I can. I think it’s a way I can begin to kick lupus ass and get back to life. Boy do I miss life.

A second unusual prescription my doctor has written is for desitin. Yup, the stuff you put on your baby’s butt for diaper rash. You may be wondering what desitin has to do with lupus….

I did too!

It has zinc oxide in it. Zinc oxide sits on the skin’s surface i.e. is not absorbed into the skin, and blocks both UVA (320-400 nm) and UVB (280-320 nm) rays of ultraviolet light. It sits on top of the skin so it’s also nonirritating and nonallergic. So, she wants me to use it for sunscreen.

Now I’ll be walking on the side of the road with a white desitin face! If you see me walking down co rd 48 with my dog wave and I’ll wave back. This is of course after you laugh at my big floppy hat and large sunscreen approved clothing, and white face.

Quotes and information from NY Times Magazine at: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/04/17/magazine/mag-17sitting-t.html?_r=1&scp=1&sq=movement%20study&st=cse

Responses

  1. You have one creative doctor! That’s a tough one for me… exercise is too hard some days. ~ Peter


Leave a Reply

Categories

