Posted by: hockeygrl1 | May 2, 2011

The Cone of Shame; my dog’s nemesis.. other than squirrels

I have noticed recently that my dog, Bella, has some similarities to the dog Dug in the movie Up. I love that movie by the way. It is really a cute concept. Imagine if our dogs could tell us what they’re thinking. I know. I’ve written about this before, but the look on Bella’s face last night spoke 1000 words.

Yes, Bella had to get stitches again. It is again…. You see she stepped on something this winter and had stitches in her paw for a puncture wound. It was really fun covering up her paw so she could go out in the 2 feet of snow we had. She didn’t enjoy that! Bella would give me this look that said, “What the hell are you doing” when I’d put her bootie on to cover that paw. She’d stand there at first with a look of confusion on her face. She’d look right at me for a bit and then start to shake her paw to try to get it off. She was hoping I didn’t pull the Velcro tight enough and would have a look of defeat on her face when she realized that I did my job.

She would go out in the snow and do her business and then look for a squirrel to chase, but I had her on her leash and she’d grunt in disgust when she couldn’t go running. Near the end of the 14 days, I let her go running with her bootie in the deep snow. She was really proud when she came back and it was lost. The look on her face said, “take that mom!”

Now we are going through stitches again. This time on her belly. There is not a bootie to be worn and during the day there is always someone to keep an eye on her. It’s just at night that I get the dirty looks. I’m making an Up reference again. You see, she has to wear the ‘cone of shame’ at night so she doesn’t rip her stitches out. She hates it. I had to laugh last night when I put it on. Bella really looked like she felt shame. You know, the tail went between her legs and her ears go back and she looked at me with the ‘I’m sorry, mama’ look. She really thought she did something wrong.

I felt bad so I rested her head and cone on a pillow thinking it would make her more comfortable. I’m a sucker for my dog. She made it until 1am before whining. I tried to make her more comfortable than, but she kept waking me up so I took it off. All the stitches are still there. I guess I’m lucky.

Now she’s made because I won’t let her go upstairs whenever she wants. She’s supposed to take it easy. It’s hard to explain that to a dog. She wants to go out and chase the ‘mean old squirrels.’ That’s what we call them. You know she looks at the tree tops to find them and follows them through the woods as the jump. I’m sure she’s yelling, ‘fall, fall!’ in her head. I bet that’s how she got her owie; she wasn’t looking where she was going.

Now she is resting on the floor next to my chair as I type at the computer. I’m glad she’s feeling better and I hope this was our last visit to the vet this year.

Responses

  1. Poor poor Bella!Isn’t it funny how they can truly communicate their feelings and emotions through facial expressions!


Leave a Reply

Categories

