Posted by: hockeygrl1 | June 2, 2011

Spring Cleaning is for Health too

I guess it’s a little late for spring cleaning, but I do live in Minnesota and it’s just started to be nice out, so lets give it a try!

People talk about spring cleaning their homes, yards and garages or in my case, my car, but they never talk about their spring plans for their health.  Spring brings warmer weather and farmers markets that can lead to a healthier you!

I’ve been walking almost every day for a month now. Yes, I’ve done it during our not so nice spring up here in the great white north. I do it for my health and my dogs health and because there are pretty rocks on the side of the road.  Yep, my doctor thought that if I walked for an hour every day, I’d start to lose weight. It hasn’t worked yet, but that could be because of the steroids I’m still on. The biggest challenge is to keep going through the pain and covering up.

Covering up is because I have lupus and it doesn’t react well to sunlight. I guess I should change my waking and sleeping hours for the summer. Na, that would just mean too much isolation for me. It’s bad enough that I don’t feel well enough to be social most of the time. At least if I’m awake when everyone else is I can text or IM them. So I’ll continue to cover myself in sunscreen, long sleeves and pants, and my floppy hat.

I am fortunate to live close to a food co-op. They have healthy foods at low prices. My Good Earth Co-Op has low prices as well so it’s just like I’m shopping at the local grocery store. I love it! Walking through the small but fully stocked produce aisle actually makes me want to eat a salad. That says a lot because normally I’d need to drench the salad in bad for you things to eat it and I don’t when I buy there.

My mom is crazy and likes to remind me that my kids need more fiber. She adds wheat germ to everything. When we can’t find whole wheat flour for baking, this is where we go. I have also tried rice flour and they have it here. They have things for any restrictive diet and are helpful so you can find what you are looking for.

So, my spring cleaning is eating better. I need to do this because when I do, I feel better. I have bought a rice cooker with a food steamer on top. This way I can steam my food in my missing kitchen without getting in the crabby people’s way. I also make fresh raspberry lemonade for me to drink instead of soda. I know there’s still a lot of sugar in it, but there are not all the mystery ingredients. I try to only drink one glass a day. The rest is milk or water (OK coffee too, I have a mild addiction.)

The co-op and farmers markets will keep me full of fresh fruits and veggies. I try to buy organic when I can. I think I get enough chemicals in the form of medications.

How are you spring cleaning your health? I could use more ideas, but please no immune system boosters. My system is being suppressed. Boosting will make my lupus worse.

Here’s the link to my co-op: http://www.goodearthcoop.com/home

Responses

  1. I enjoy drinking fruit smoothies that I have made. And then eating fruit throughout the day.

    • Ooooo, Do you have a favorite flavor?


Leave a Reply

Categories

