Posted by: hockeygrl1 | June 15, 2011

Doctors should only give good news

So what is going on? Well, I wish I had an easy answer like, “I’m cured,” but that’s not the case. Even with exercise and eating good, things are going downhill again. How do we know that? My blood pressure is getting out of control again.

You see, kidneys release hormones that regulate blood pressure as well as make red blood cells and promote strong bones. So besides the fact that I feel bloated and fatigued, my high blood pressure is also a sign that my kidneys are not functioning well again.

My Nephrologist (kidney doctor) wants me on a special diet. (Laughing with tears in my eyes right now) It’s called the Dash diet which is similar to a Mediterranean diet. This should be good. My family that lives upstairs (mom & dad, brother, his wife & kid) eat red meat like it’s going out of style. Large portions of meat are the focus of every meal for them. Since we all share the kitchen and I have to run up and down the stairs to cook, I leave it up to them. No I’m back on the veggies are the focus of the meal, have red meat once a week, fish and chicken 2-3 times a week diet. Should make things interesting.

We’re switching up some blood pressure meds again and I’m still waiting to find out of Benlysta is in my future. We’ve also upped the amount of gabapentin I’m on for my fibromyalgia. Right now hugs hurt so please try to control yourselves.

Right now I’m not in the best of moods, that’s why this post is very matter of fact. I’m not feeling flowery today.

If you have any filling, low-fat, vegetarian recipes you’d like to send me please do. I guess I can have fish, so those to please. I need all the help I can get!

Leave a Reply

Categories

