Posted by: hockeygrl1 | June 17, 2011

Free my butterfly

I know I’ve been slacking. I just haven’t had anything nice or positive to say since my doctor’s appointment on Tuesday. It’s hard hearing that all you are doing to try to get better isn’t enough. It’s even harder when things you were trying to do and you were told you’re crazy to do by your family, were the right things.  It is discouraging to me that in a time of need, ones family can be the most judging.

With that out of my system, I’m going to focus on some inspiring tweets I’ve seen over the past few days. 1 has come out of the #140 conference. You might be wondering what that is, well:

“The #140conf events provide a platform for the worldwide twitter community to: listen, connect, share and engage with each other, while collectively exploring the effects of the emerging real-time internet on business.”

Some wonderful twitter friends attended and presented at the conference and I was truly inspired by what they shared.

For example, “It is simple. Help people when they need help, not when you feel like helping.” (From #140conf by Christine Miserandino) I’d like to post this in my house as well as on a t-shirt. I have a great friend that exemplifies this statement. Her name is Sara Anderson. I’ve known her about 12 years now and I know she has volunteered all those years. She has raised money for every cause you can think of by either doing walks, runs marathons and has even done a triathlon. Sara volunteers at the Courage Center in Minnesota and teaches adaptive skiing. I know I’m missing great things she has done, but there are too many to count. She will do anything to help anyone and I wish I could be more like her.

This is what this quote means to me. She is there when you need help and she freely gives it not hoping for anything in return.

This quote I’m going to have my daughter write in beautiful letters so I can look at it every day. “Tough people aren’t born that way, they become that way when no one’s there to wipe their tears away.” I saw it on twitter. I don’t know who said it, but I saw it the day after my doctor’s appointment. It’s what I’ve been doing all my life. I have great friends, but they are not always available. It’s made me deal with a lot on my own. My good friend Casey Hintzman told me after I became seriously ill that he looks up to me because I am so strong. It made me cry then like it does now. There is a long list of things I have had to do on my own, I’m sure you all have them too, and now I am tough enough to think that they have prepared me for this fight.

I’ve come around to the new addition to my body. It seems fitting that I see this statement after I got my new tattoo, but it explains why. I don’t believe that every tattoo needs a story. My other 2 I got just because I wanted a tat; this is the only one that really has meaning for me. It’s even more special because my daughter designed it for me.

Cassie is the artistic one in the family. She not only draws and paints, she dances as well. All the art genes went to her and all the nerdy book brains sent to my son Brandon. While I have some of both, I can relate to Brandon better.

Butterfly Tattoo

Back to the quote. It is from LupusStar Foundation. I just recently began following them and this caught my attention. “The Butterfly is a symbol of beauty, growth, hope, healing and freedom!! Be a Butterfly!!” Those are all things I need right now.

  • I need to remember I am beautiful, even with the added steroid and water weight.
  • Through this illness, I am still growing. Growth with knowledge and understanding.
  • My hope is for a cure, not just for lupus, but for any debilitating disease.
  • I want healing for my body and mind.
  • Freedom from the restraints of my illness.

It is an inspiring and beautiful quote. If I would have seen it before my tattoo, I would have had it placed with the butterfly. I’m going to try my best going forward to remember these things and take these challenges, as best I can, with a positive attitude.  After all, “you catch more bees with honey.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

