Posted by: hockeygrl1 | June 25, 2011

The Aftermath…. A Spoonie Goes Out

Some of you may be thinking, “she goes out with her friends. She can’t be that sick.”

What you don’t see it the aftermath. (Oh, by the way, I don’t drink when I go out. I don’t want to hurt my kidneys any more and it may trigger another bout of pancreatitus. Not to mention the multiple drugs I’m on that may react to booze.)

The day after going out with my friends is spent recovering. My whole body hurts, I have no energy, and I can hardly move. Climbing the stairs feels like I’m climbing a mountain.

My kids and parents do everything for me. I normally don’t cook or clean; I just spend all my time on the couch or in bed sleeping and flipping through the channels.

Yep, I definitively pay for my fun. It’s worth it and is part of what my doctor wants. She wants me to do normal things and see my friends. I mean, how depressed would you be if you couldn’t go anywhere because you’re sick. You stare at the same thing all day every day and everyone is talking about all these fun things they get to do.

The day after, I may feel like crap, but I was up at 9:30 this morning. I did want to go back to sleep, but I have kids to think about. They don’t want to see me sleeping all day. It makes them worry.  So, I spend some time pretending I’m not tired and that I don’t hurt.

Tonight I’m planing on going out again. That will be 2 days in a row. Sunday is going to be a lazy day. I may spend it watching Cassie swim in the pool from the shade while I drink some cold lemonade….. Now that summer has finally come to Minnesota!

Leave a Reply

Categories

