Posted by: hockeygrl1 | July 25, 2011

Wait, where is my son?

The other day while I was climbing in to bed, my son asked if he could go to his friend’s house. It was no big deal. I didn’t even have to drive him since his friend could pick him up. I said yes and was in dreamland in no time at all.

The next day, I went about things like I normally do. Made coffee, ate breakfast and waited for the kids to wake up. It’s summer vacation and I let them sleep tell noon, but no later. I think noon is long enough and then they have time to help around the house. My dad asked if Brandon could help him when he woke up. I said “yes” and just continued to wait for noon to come around.

When it finally did, I opened his door to wake him up and he was gone. I looked around the house for a second and checked the bathroom and then it hit me. I told him he could go to Joey’s house. It totally slipped my mind.

Lost of things are slipping my mind lately. I have to write notes for everything and even have a calendar on my coffee table that I jot things down on. Simple things that I would normally remember, like Cassie’s dance class time, need to be wrote down now.

I’m sure some of my friends have noticed my inability to talk as well. Trying to say simple words can make me sound drunk or I can’t think of the right word to say. It’s really frustrating. I have a college education and when I was working I frequently spoke in front of large groups and never had problems. Of all the side effects I’ve noticed since my diagnosis of Lupus and Fibromyalgia, this is one of the most frustrating (Next to the weight gain from medications of course).

My doctor insists that once we get the pain under control, my brain and mouth will go back to normal. I don’t know if I believe her. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see what happens. One of these days I’d like to be pain-free. I just hope it happens before I lose my mind.

Until then, you can laugh with me when I can’t  talk and be thankful that your mind and mouth can work together.

Leave a Reply

Categories

