Posted by: hockeygrl1 | September 26, 2011

America, Home of the Free… and unsympathetic

Sorry everyone, but here come a sick woman’s political rant.  I didn’t ask to be sick. I didn’t ask to not be able to work. I did not expect to have to have the govt pay for my medical. I did everything I should have. I had a job; I had medical insurance and I had some money in savings.

The truth is the medical I had from my employer, Cigna (an insurance company), did not cover many of my medications and treatments. The money I had saved for the 6 month waiting period before Social Security Disability Insurance kicks in, didn’t go to cover my house payment, food or electric bills, it went to pay for medications needed but not covered. Oh, and that six months wasn’t true ether; It took a year. Even with the insurance from my employer, some of my medications were $800 for a 2 week supply. I wonder now what I was paying for every month out of my check because the insurance sure didn’t cover me well.

I was reading this blog and viewing this video really hit home. (http://www.latentexistence.me.uk/fight-for-healthcare/) I too suffer from sjogren’s syndrome. I’m on medication to produce more saliva from my glands and there is a broken tooth in my mouth right now from lack of saliva. (I brush and floss all the time, but my mouth is dry and I have bad breath.) I am lucky that it isn’t as bad as this womans, Chelle Denise, and it’s not my front teeth and I’m able to take medication to keep it under control.

The part that hurts me the most is the second paragraph of Steven Sumpter / Latentexistance’s blog.

“A couple of weeks ago there was a debate held by CNN and the Tea Party for Republican party presidential candidates. Ron Paul was asked if a person without health insurance should be left to die if he needed intensive care. He replied ”That’s what freedom is all about, taking your own risks. This whole idea that you have to take care of everybody…” That reply received rapturous applause from the audience. The audience were actually applauding the idea of leaving someone to die. (See the video here.)”

I agree. Hearing that made me sick. What if I was that person? I was really sick, kidney failing sick, peeing blood sick, can’t eat sick, checked on every hour even at night sick…. Would they applaud me being sent home to die?

We are supposed to be a super power as a country, yet people are sick and can’t get better because they don’t have health coverage. “A Harvard study, to be published next month in the American Journal of Public Health, suggests that almost 45,000 Americans die prematurely each year as a consequence of not having insurance.” This quote taken from an opinion article in the NY Times show the depth of the problem.  (http://www.nytimes.com/2009/11/29/opinion/29kristof.html) Even if you get insurance through your state government, it doesn’t guarantee treatment. Doctors can refuse treatment. They do this because the amount they will get paid is way lower than if the patient had insurance through an employer.

I’m not saying the program President Obama has passed is the correct way to solve this problem, but you have to agree that something needs to be done.

I’m having issues now because my 18-year-old son, who is in high school, has a job. We have to prove that his income working part-time at McDonald’s is low enough so he is still covered by the state insurance plan. I don’t know how it couldn’t be, but they are waiting on the work verification form and will cancel his insurance without it. So, I’m hoping they have filled it out and I can bring it to social services so I know they have it. Reason for this? They lose everything. Which makes things harder for me. I’m glad my foot is working so I can drive it to them.

The Social Security Disability system also is a problem. It takes 1-3 years to get approved and I’m approved now, but they are reviewing my case again after only 2 years. Maybe they should stop thinking everyone is committing fraud. I’m sure there is some fraud out there, but there are a lot of us suffering and we need this benefit.

How can anyone take care of their family without money or worse, with out medications so they can function? I’m not saying that we should be taken care of by the government, but we do pay plenty in taxes.

I don’t claim to have the solution to all of this, but you have to agree that something is wrong. We have the medications and treatments to help these people, but they are not being treated. They are young and could be productive again. Uncle Sam could get more tax money out of the eventually, but the system that we put our trust in is failing. We never think about it until it does fail. I know I didn’t and my family didn’t either.

Just think about it…. What would you do in one of these situations…. How would you fix these problems…. Would you let these two people I have used as examples suffer and die???

Leave a Reply

Categories

