Posted by: hockeygrl1 | December 18, 2011

A new family tradition

Chocolate cookies

 

I’ve decided that since I don’t have room for a Christmas tree, I’m going to bake a crap load of cookies. The sad part is most of them are eaten. Not by me, but by my friends. I gave most of them away. They made nice gifts!

There is one that has become my children’s favorite; the Chocolate Crinkle. I know you’re wondering what the hell is a Chocolate Crinkle??? My mom has the Betty Crockier’s Cooky Book. It looks like it’s from the 70’s. Well that sounds right. I was born in 1972. That was prime cooking making time for my mom. I don’t know why, but she never tried this recipe. Last year, my daughter talked her into doing it. All they needed was a bite of one cookie and my kids were hooked.

They are like cookie brownies! They are soft and chewy like brownies and chocolate like brownies. They have a powdered sugar outer crust that opens up to chocolate brownie goodies on the inside. I guess this is why some people like the outside brownies. They are great and I’m not exaggerating.

The recipe is simple enough…

Chocolate Crinkles

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup vegtable oil
  • 4 squares unsweetened chocolate melted
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup confectioner’s sugar

Directions:

Mix, oil, chocolate, and grandulated sugar. Blend in one egg at a time until well blended. Add vanilla. Measure flour by dipping method or by sifting. Stir flour, baking powder and salt into oil mixture. Chill several hours or overnight.

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Drop teaspoonfuls of dough into confectioners’ sugar. Roll in sugar; shape into balls. Place 2″ apart on greased baking sheet. Bake 10-12 min or until almost no imprint remains when touched lightly in center. Makes 6 dozen.

 

You may want to double the recipe because they go fast!!

Responses

  1. These look wonderful!

  2. Reblogged this on Hello100blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

