Posted by: hockeygrl1 | January 6, 2012

Disability Benefits when you need them mot. Yea, right!

I know some people try to trick the system, but everyone is not like that. Those people have made everything harder for the ones that play by the rules. I’m one of those people.

When I became ill in 2007, I wasn’t thinking about how I could cheat the system and get extra money, I was just hoping to pay my bills and pay for medications. It was hard enough to deal with doctor, labs and multiple medications, but I also needed to take care of my children.

Moving through the system (welfare, medical & social security) is impossible. Dealing with the illness is horrible. If a person is applying for ssdi, they’re really sick. There are a lot of forms to fill out. I thought I did a pretty good job when I sent in the forms for my first time. I described my day and how the illness affected me and my kids, I listed the 20 medications I was taking including chemotherapy, I gave the names of my doctors and multiple doctors visits, I gave the dates of my 3 hospital stays, but I was denied.

I know you’re going to ask why I didn’t get a lawyer. I did for my appeal and they were useless! I followed up on my case more than they did and I don’t think they filled out the forms any better than I did by my self.  What frustrated me the most about this whole this is that emailing my state representative is what made the difference. It’s good to get the help, but I can’t help not wondering why it had to be this way.

I’m going to backtrack for a second. When I received my denial letter it stated I was denied because having a skin condition would come under control with medication. I never wrote anything in my part of the paperwork about a skin condition because at that time I wasn’t photosensitive. I don’t think they even looked at my paperwork. They saw lupus and said no.

I’m not complaining because social security did this to me, I’m complaining because I know a number of people this has happened to. Some of these people had to go to special social security doctors. One doctor took one look at one of my online friends and said that it was crazy that she had to come and see the doctor. She was that obviously disabled. A few had hearings and at the hearing the judge would roll his eyes like he’s annoyed with social security and approve the disabled person.

All of us get lawyers. You know, the ones that advertise on tv. I guess robbing the sick doesn’t bother them. I really think if social security was running properly we wouldn’t need those lawyers. They are taking thousands (from me it was close to 2,000) and not doing that much work. Most of the information the disabled person, or someone else who knows it all, has to fill out. We still give dates of appointments, medications and hospital stays. We still need to let them know how the disease is affecting our everyday lives. To me it’s not necessary. If I had to do it again, I wouldn’t get a lawyer.

Why am I writing this now, years after my decision? Because things need to change. I am using my last bits of energy for today to tell my representatives that changes needed. I would be honored if they wanted me to be part of it.

If you’re my friend either someone I know from face to face contact or are part of my online support group, please do the same. Maybe they will hear the voices of the disabled yelling.

Responses

  1. Wow! I feel for the struggle you have had! It seems so crazy to me that it seems like all too often the people who really need the help are the ones most often denied it! The entire system is so broken. I had a brother with a mental disability (mental illness) and he and my parents had similar battles with insurance company denials and legal battles.

    And the worst part is that the insurance companies don’t just cheat their clients who they are supposed to be insuring, they cheat the doctors too! I think there is something to be said for the local doctor back in the day who knew you and with whom you could work out a barter for the care you needed with a fair price or a couple dozen eggs.

    Then, like you said, there are too many lawers who like to collect people’s money and do very little real work representing them. (Not that all lawyers are like that, but clearly the stereotype comes from some kernel of truth)

    I hope you are successful and I hope you are well!


Leave a Reply

Categories

