Posted by: hockeygrl1 | April 14, 2012

My Dream Day….

This may surprise all of you, but as much as I hate lupus, I can’t imagine living my life without it now. I know that we are years away from a cure, so I’ll be happy to settle with a medication that manages all symptoms including the chronic fatigue and malaise.

With that said, my dream day would have lupus in the news. I mean really in the news; like Breast Cancer. You know how everyone has pink shoes, bats or race cars. I want purple and butterflies everywhere. Ooooo, purple butterflies on the Mn Vikings purple helmets, that is what I want to see. This might not be realistic since lupus awareness month is May and football is in the fall, but you get the point.

Yes, we have less new cases reported per year and less deaths and I don’t know what it’s like to have cancer (although I know what it’s like to have chemo), but I’d never want to say any disease deserves more attention or funding than another.

If this could happen – for real and not just in my dreams – I’d get involved no matter how bad I felt. I’d go to the events, talk to the people helping to spread awareness and raise money for research and try my best to be a ‘poster child’ for lupus. You know, if it’s a local sports team helping out, I’d attend the game and had out information and just talk to people about how it is living with lupus.

Leading up to the event, I’d spread the word. I’m sure my family and friends would get sick of me telling them all about the even and how to get involved. I hope they will help out to and choose to spend that day with me.

How to make this happen???? I don’t know. What do you think spooines? How do we make this happen? Who do we talk to? I know TV shows have been focusing more on lupus and that is great. Christine Miserandio has done great doing this. I just don’t know where to start here in Minnesota and to spread it to the United States.

That’s my dream day. It has nothing to do with things for me, but things for us who suffer with lupus. I want to spread the word and make life easier for all of us.

Responses

  1. Amen! We need one celebrity to come along with Lupus who will shout about it to the world and then we’ll be set! Here’s hoping she or he comes along sooner rather than later!


Leave a Reply

Categories

