Posted by: hockeygrl1 | April 17, 2012

Lesson learned the hard way – My son got it right

We all know kids can be mean; It’s in the news and I hear it first hand from my teenagers. Although things are different today than they were 20 years ago, it still happens and sometimes school officials don’t do enough. What I’ve learned is that I did it all wrong and my son is doing it right.

You see, the bully’s would make me cry and I thought I was standing up to them, but it never worked. It went as far as them putting a dead fish in my locker (because they called me fish due to my dry skin and the fact that I lettered in swimming as a 8th grader). I finally couldn’t take it anymore and transferred schools for a year. This was 20 years ago in rural Minnesota it wasn’t common.

My son, he’s a character. It brings me great joy to know I’ve raised a boy who is so strong, self-confident and caring. He doesn’t take anything from the cool kids. I remember a football player teasing him back in 9th grade. He looked at him and said, “Go ahead, pick on me. You might be king of the hill now, but captain of the high school football team only lasts so long. Just know that one day a nerd like me will be your boss and we will get our revenge.” The kids never bothered him again. When he got home and told me that story, my heart filled with pride.  He did it! I couldn’t do it when I was his age.

Now the self-confidence and being his self is really coming out. We are getting ready for the prom his senior year and he’s lucky that the girl he’s going with (as a friend) is like him because I wouldn’t have let my date do this. Of course, I wasn’t self-confident at all. He is going in a 20’s gangster suit with the fedora, pocket watch, cane and works. I can’t wait. The best part is he doesn’t care what anyone thinks about it.

I can’t even tell you how proud I am of him and how I’ve learned from him. I sometimes wish I could go back and change it, but I know it has made me who I am today and I’m one tough chick. That’s what I’d tell those that are dealing with it now; It does end even if it’s not right. But if you are a teenager dealing with bullying –  report it. If they don’t listen, keep reporting it. Then try to make change.

We can make a difference.

Responses

  1. This story put a big smile on my face. From what I just read I see your son doesn’t want to be dressed like everybody else. Tell him great job.. I would love to see some pictures. YOU ARE RAISING A GOOD KID.

    • Thank you. There will be pictures! maybe a whole blog post


Leave a Reply

Categories

