Posted by: hockeygrl1 | April 19, 2012

5 Dinner Guests

How can I pick only 5 people to have dinner with if it’s both living or deceased? There are so many people throughout history that I’d love to ask questions. I’m a person that is addicted to the History or Discovery channel. I just watched hours of shows on the Titanic over the weekend. When planning vacations, we visit historical sites and my kids like it. This is going to be a real exercise for me.

I know one for sure. I’ve watched the movie Miracle over and over again because I love this coach and how he brought his teams together. I totally understand why they chose him to coach the Men’s Olympic Hockey Team.

“Great moments are born from great opportunity. And that’s what you have here tonight, boys. That’s what you’ve earned here, tonight. One game. If we played ’em ten time, they might win nine. But not this game. Not tonight. Tonight, we skate with ’em. Tonight, we stay with ’em, and we shut them down because we can! Tonight, we are the greatest hockey team in the world.  You were born to be hockey players — every one of ya. And you were meant to be here tonight. This is your time. Their time — is done. It’s over. I’m sick and tired of hearin’ about what a great hockey team the Soviets have. Screw ’em! This is your time!! Now go out there and take it!”

Just reading that speech makes me cry. He knew what was needed to make a team and he made successful teams over and over again. He even understood how college players would play harder than the pros and that is so true. I’d like to talk to him and to have him inspire me more than he already has to continue my fight against lupus and fibromyalgia and to continue to support others and the Lupus Foundation MN.

Next, I’d like to have dinner with Leonardo Da Vinci. First I’d like to know if any of these conspiracy theories are true. Are there messages in The Great Supper?

File:Última Cena - Da Vinci 5.jpg

I’m dying to know. I think we’d have a great discussion about his science drawings and theories. In the 1400’s he was conceptualizing helicopters, calculators and solar power.

File:Design for a Flying Machine.jpg

Few of his designs were constructed or were even feasible during his lifetime. Don’t you think he’d be thrilled to know he was on the right track?

Kurt Cobain spoke to my generation and was just a little older than me. Nirvana’s  album Nevermind was released the year I graduated from high school and reached number 6 on the Billboard Hot 100. This was when alternative rock hit the mainstream. I can relate to someone who always felt like an outsider and was bullied in high school.

There’s just something in Nirvana’s music and I know he was a big part of their sound. You want to listen and you can relate to the lyrics. My kids love their music so it is multi-generational.  Kurt Cobain looked up to the Beatles and has called Jon Lennon his idol. I can see how their writing styles could be compared. Some have called him the John Lennon of our time.

His death was ruled a suicide. It was known that he didn’t like stardom and was addicted to heroin and suffered from depression. He had attempted suicide in the past as well. I don’t want to find out why he did it. I’d like to know what new music he’d come out with now. Maybe he could write a new song at dinner.

I’d like to meet our first President, George Washington. We need an American history lesson at dinner. It seems like the kids now come out of high school knowing less and less about our history and how our government works. They seem to think elections are popularity contests and not elections for people that will really make decisions about our country and how it is ran.

I’d also like his point of view on how things are going now. Is this how he saw our country? Did he think that the rich would get this far apart from the poor in our country? Did he think that the rich would be the only ones elected to office? How does he feel about it? I want to know. How would he fix our problems? It would be a heated discussion for sure considering the last person I’d invite.

Chris Kluwe! Yes, the punter for the Minnesota Vikings gets my last spot. He is hilarious on twitter; yep, that’s my first reason. Chris is also the nerdiest person I know of in sports. I can’t picture most of the football players I went to college or high school with writing a document on Campaign Finance Reform. Oh, its good. Read it – Campaign Finance Reform . I shared it with my parents and they agreed. My mom said, “This was written by a football player?” Oh, yes, and he’d a smart one. His SAT score was 1490* and who else could pick up and guitar in and 6 months play with a band? (If he reads this, I know he will be correcting all my grammar mistakes. Forgive me Chris, I’m quickly doing this because I may be in the hospital later today)

Can you imagine the discussion between him and President Washington, Leonardo de Vinci and Kurt Cobain? He’d go from our government to inventions to new guitar rifts. Just the kind of lively conversation I’d want. I could even sit back and relax because I’m sure Kluwe would take over.

That’s who would be at my dinner table. Who would be at yours?

*Vikings’ Kluwe marches to his own tune, Les Carpenter, Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011, Yahoo Sports

Leave a Reply

Categories

