Posted by: hockeygrl1 | May 1, 2012

I’m a Rockhound

I guess I’m a rockhound. That’s what they call us in the United States anyway. I love to collect pretty and different looking rocks. I do have a motive for the craziness; I make jewelry out of the pieces. I’ve been lazy with the jewelry making due to lack of funds for materials, but May will be a big crafting month.

What kind of rock is my favorite to look for? The Lake Superior Agate. It is so easy to find around my area on the side of the road in the gravel. See if you can find the agate in this picture.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s an easy one.  I’m walking at 3 miles per hour when I find these.  If I walked any slower, Bella would drag me along.

What’s an agate? It’s a rock. A really pretty rock once it’s polished.  It’s comprised of crystallized rock a variety of silica, chiefly chalcedony that is characterized by the lines or grains and brightness of color.   The Agate is a volcanic rock formed by formed from layers of quartz which usually show varicolored bands. It usually occurs as rounded nodules or veins. The result is banding much like the rings on tree trunks.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some I found on the side of the road and polished. Aren’t they beautiful.  Who needs diamonds!! (Don’t tell any man I find and date in the future that I said that!) I’d like to get a drill press to make holes in some of the agates for easier jewelry making. Until than I have to wrap them with wire, solder then or place them in icomalt like the ones below.  I will be placing silver bands around the outsides of these to make pendents and earrings. It works great for my little chips.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m going to be opening an Etsy shop soon to sell these pieces as well as some butterflies and spoons I’ve been making for charms and earrings.

I’m going to leave you with a funny thought…. Did you know Agate is the Mystical birthstone for September? I didn’t. How cool that my birth date is September 21 and both my kids were born in September. I guess it was fate.

In case you didn’t see the agate… this was an easy one… Here it is

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

