Posted by: hockeygrl1 | August 23, 2012

Doctors, doctors, doctors and when they are not right

Nearly five years ago, I began my lupus journey with a bad bought of pancreatitus (and kidney failure). When I was in the hospital, they told me, or I heard, that my gull bladder and ducts around it are fine and not the cause of this horrible pain. They concluded that there was no need to remove my gull bladder.

Since that day, I’ve had to repeat the pain, nausea, and vomiting caused by pancreatitus again and again. I’ve spent more time in the hospital, yet no doctor has said anything about that gull bladder until April of this year.

Let me describe pancreatitus to those that have never experienced the pain and other symptoms: For me the nausea starts first.  It is never-ending. The nausea kind of reminds me of morning sickness but worse. You don’t want to eat or drink anything, even water. If you do try to eat anything there is pain and vomiting. It got to the point that I was crying as i leaned over the toilet because I couldn’t stop vomiting. My muscles in my stomach and my head ached, yet I couldn’t stop. Then there is the pain.  Some people get it in there upper right side or just under their chest, I get it in my back.  It’s the worst back ache ever and it never goes away; never-ending pain of an 8 out of 10. Crying is involved and the vomiting doesn’t stop. I remember doing it on the way home from work. (Yes, I was working with this for 2 weeks)

When the doctor finally said we should try taking my gull bladder out to stop this I was thrilled.  It would be one less thing I had to deal with; less pain is always wanted. Little did I know that the surgeon would give me a hard time. He wasn’t sure this is something I should go through because he thought it was unnecessary. “Why take out the gull bladder if it’s not working that bad?” he said. “Surgery is risky and I don’t want to do it if it’s not needed and there is no guarantee it will fix the problem.  It could, but maybe not.” So he ordered the 2 hour scan I went through back in 2007 to check my gull bladder.

The cool thing about the scan is they show you what a properly functioning gull bladder looks like before the test and you get to watch what they see on a screen. Well, I could see mine wasn’t doing anything. Eat that doctor!

What really pisses me off about all of this is that first test way back in 2007 wasn’t normal. They thought my sphincter of oddi (a circular band of muscle at the bottom of the biliary tree which controls the flow of pancreatic juices and bile into the second part of the duodenum.)  was not working properly.  This can cause retention of bile in the biliary tree and pancreatic juice in the pancreatic duct and cause pancreatitus.

What do I have to say about all this? Damn  doctors!!! I should have pushed more for a solution. I’ve been going through five years of extra pain and hospitalizations just because they didn’t put everything together. Yes, I’m pissed. I can’t believe I let this happen.

Moral of the story: If you think the doctors are not doing everything to help you feel better, push them. Try to get more answers and if you can’t, get that second opinion.  Don’t suffer like I did.

My surgery is scheduled for August 30. Lets hope it’s out-patient like it’s supposed to be and that everything goes well and that it solves this awful affliction!

Responses

  1. What an ordeal you have been through, as if lupus alone was not enough of a challenge. Best wishes as you hopefully get the help you need.


Leave a Reply

Categories

