Posted by: hockeygrl1 | June 17, 2013

I Did It!!

Yes, I did.  I ran (walked) my first 5k. Yep, almost 6 years from my diagnosis of lupus, fibromyalgia and a host of other autoimmune diseases I ran (walked) a 5k.

It wasn’t easy, but things never are. It took training and determination and a little support from my friends and family. It did take me almost 45 minutes, but I take that as a time to beat.

I was always trying to beat my best time in the 500m freestyle in high school and this is just another number like that. I’m going to do a 5k a month to see if i can do just that; improve my time.

Being centered is the key. I guess I’m not good at being the chatty one while I exercise. I need to focus on my running and just listen to my music. Counting in my head helps for some reason. I know it sounds crazy, but it’s what I do.

I really became motivated after Josh Harding of the Minnesota Wild was diagnosed with MS. I figured if he can play pro hockey with an autioimmune disease, I can get into shape and run a 5k.

So my saga continues…. More running is in my future. I have joined a run club so I run with them every Monday and I’m looking at some events to do every month.  This is a new and exciting chapter in my life.

Now if I could only find a man to run with me 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

