Posted by: hockeygrl1 | November 12, 2013

Update day 2

Today wasn’t the best day. I had my CT scan this morning than an appointment with the doctor at 10:30.

They didn’t see anything abnormal on my CT scan. I need to have an endoscopic ultrasound. At first they were saying the next available  appointment was 11/211. I was like hell no! Now my appointment is this Thursday.

The doctor will send a scope down my throat this scope has a small ultrasound transducer on the tip. This allows the doctor to obtain higher quality images of my pancreas and ducts in my digestive system.

So what is going on? Pancreatitis is inflammation of the pancreas, the organ that secrets digestive enzymes in to the gastrointestinal tract. They have already taken my gallbladder out, gallstones can cause pancreatitis. Other causes are chronic alcohol use, trauma , medications, tumors and genetic abnormalities.  Trauma and medications have been rules out as well. The EUS will check for clogged bile ducts, tumors and genetic abnormalities.

The whole other thing that Haas me so upset is that the doctor is leaning toward this being idiopathic pancreatitis….. That means they have no idea why  I’m getting it but I’ll get it for the rest of my life. Right now that would mean dealing with this chronic pain and stomach upset.

Keep me in your thoughts.  I don’t know how this will turn out

Leave a Reply

Categories

